The Boy turns 12

Posterous-66

I’ve been looking through my files for the definitive portrait of The Boy, aka Cole, our son, who is 12 today. I don’t know that I have a definitive portrait of him, in all his kind, funny, frustrating, awe-inspiring, messy, contemplative, aloof, socially-indifferent, loud, curious, piercing, laid-back, triumphant, silly, too-serious, brotherly, awkward, still, wise, spongy, loving glory, so this one will have to do.

He is my fellow traveler, my best buddy, my foil, my only accomplishment, and I can’t imagine life without him.

Happy Birthday, Cole. I love you more than anything.

Leave a Reply

